Happy-U Bloggity Blog

Holistic Approach to Positive Psychology & Yoga

Four Life Changing Questions

on February 7, 2013

Are you familiar with

Image

If not, get ready. She is a fascinating woman, who admits to being one unhappy, miserable human being for much of her life. One day while lying on the kitchen floor with cockroaches crawling across her leg, she had an epiphany.

She realized all her suffering came from her thoughts about her situation, not from the situation itself. Leading her to the conclusion…

All suffering comes from believing your thoughts.

Based on this idea, she developed ‘The Work.’  A simple, quick technique for self-inquiry consisting of asking yourself four questions about a painful thought or belief.

  1. Is it true?
  2. Can I absolutely know that it’s true?
  3. How do I react when I believe that thought?
  4. Who would I be without that thought?

After you answer those questions, you apply a turn-around statement. The turn-around is expressing the exact opposite of your beliefs. Constructing a positive rather than a negative thought.

If this idea peaks your interest, you can dig in deeper by reading Katie’s book, Loving What Is.

Image

Can these four questions really change your life? I don’t know, but I do know that I am usually able to turn-around almost any negative thought I am having by asking myself Questions #1 &  #2.

Is it true? Can I absolutely know that it’s true?

My answer to that is always “NO” since there is very little I can know is ABSOLUTELY true.

Image

So the next time you have

THOUGHTS UGLYQuestion the thought by asking yourself…

#1 Is it True?   #2 Can I absolutely know that it’s true?

#3 How do I react when I believe that thought?

#4 Who would I be without that thought?

Apply a turn-around statement to make an ugly thought, into a beautiful thought, and you will become more beautiful to the world.

dahl

Thanks to Roald Dahl for such deep wisdom.

Love,

Jan:)

One response to “Four Life Changing Questions

  1. Joni Van Genderen says:

    Loved this. I will work on banishing those ugly thoughts, lest my face get too ugly! xoxo

Leave a Reply

