Happy-U Bloggity Blog

Holistic Approach to Positive Psychology & Yoga

MLK Jr., the Yogi

on January 20, 2013

It’s nice when the calendar provides beautiful inspiration for a blog post for me to write.

I’ve been so busy lately, what with the new yoga studio, baby on the way, and a completely new routine for myself, I’ve found myself ending many a day recently faceplanting into my bed at 8:45, with the apparent affliction of narcolepsy. I’ve been doing so much, that my mental reserves haven’t proven deep enough to provide me with much philosophical content for this here blog. I’ve considered taking a hiatus to let myself off the hook. Maybe I’ve got too much going on to try to produce a blog.  Maybe I should give up.mlk4

So, I have a choice. I can throw the towel in, or I can take some pressure off myself. I can get mad at myself, or I can dig deep (or not so deep) and just take one baby step in the direction I’d like to go.

mlk5

So I start with finding a quote, a reading, something to inspire me. And think, maybe just sharing something awesome I’ve found is enough for today.

And when my inner critic tells me that that’s stupid, or that I just can’t do it, or I’m not good enough or capable enough, I say,

mlk7

Even when that person is me.

mlk8

So I keep moving forward. Doing what I can not to succumb to insecurity or doubt. To listen to the messages of utter exhaustion, but not to overreact. To be gentle with myself and love myself even when I struggle. Even when I feel like I’m not at my best. I remind myself that…

mlk6

So I remember to LOVE. To love myself, to love others, to love the world. And that, my friends, is enough.

mlk3

 

Thank you, Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. for all your incredible insights… I see you as the yogi you were in your heart, and am grateful for the inspiration you provided me today, when I just wasn’t sure I was enough 🙂

Pass it on…

One response to “MLK Jr., the Yogi

  1. Molly Barber says:

    Karson,
    Thank you for this beautiful message! You are an inspiration to me and so many others. You just do what you need to do for yourself and your family and enjoy each moment.

    Namaste,
    Molly

Leave a Reply

